Carolina Wild

Green Shoots

greenshootsIn North Carolina there are a lot of winter days when you can be fooled into thinking spring has arrived. It’s not just people, the plants are often fooled, too. Freeze damage is just beginning to show itself in the garden. A few plants have some dead limbs, raspberry canes have patches empty of buds, the blueberries are sparse, too. Overall, the garden did okay over the harsh winter. I have heard of others that took the cold a lot harder than mine. It wasn’t just late season freezing temps, but a deep freeze where several nights were in the single digits, which is quite a bit below normal for here. This was the second year in the row for a deep freeze and some of those plants that are on the fringes of their zones have been especially vulnerable. Figs are one that is popular around here and do well until some extended periods of really cold weather. My fig is taking it’s time leafing out this year and I’m not sure how much it will produce, but at this point it at least is alive and well.  The first leaves are stunted and misshapen.  I think this might be a result of the buds freezing. Other fig gardeners are still waiting for the first green shoots to show, so I think I am doing well.

The lemon tree is a different story. It is a Meyer lemon, which is more cold hardy than most citrus, and it did okay through the winter until a 6 degree night took it out. When I finally uncovered it, it was obvious that it wasn’t going to make it. The young green limbs were gray, the bark on the trunk was cracked and all the leaves had dropped. As sad as it looked, I left it in its pot, just to see. But I did begin to plan what I could plant for the summer in the very large container which had been its home. Just as I was about to throw it in the compost pile, I looked close and found three green shoots coming from that sad looking tree. What an amazing thing a plant can be! While there is any life left in them at all, they bring it forth no matter what. The lemon tree will not be the same, but while it is alive, I will still tend it –

My daughter asked before this if we were going to get a new lemon tree. “I’m thinking about it,” I said, being honest, “but there are other things that might be better for our garden.”

“But I like that lemon stuff you make and put in jars.”

“Lemon curd?”

“Yes, lemon curd. It is so yummy.”

It may be a while before I make lemon curd with my own lemons, so here is the recipe so I don’t forget.

Lemon Curd

Yield: 1 pint

Amount

Measure

Ingredient

5

ea

egg yolks

1

cup

sugar

1/3

cup

lemon juice (about 4 lemons)

1/4

cup

chilled butter, sliced

Method:

  1. Bring a small pot of water to boil, reduce to a simmer over low heat.
  2. Place the egg yolks and sugar into a metal bowl that will fit over the pot.  Whisk until combined and smooth.
  3. Add lemon juice to the eggs and whisk together.
  4. Place the bowl of eggs on the pot of simmering water.  The bottom of the bowl should not touch the water
  5. Whisk the egg mixture until it thickens and becomes a pale yellow color.
  6. Remove from heat.
  7. Add the butter slices one at a time, whisking each into the mixture until it melts.
  8. Place in container, cover and refrigerate.

Prep: 5 min

Cook: 15 min

Keeps for: about 2 weeks 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2015 by in Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .