Carolina Wild

Non Stop Cucumbers

Cucumber in the garden
I mentioned a few years ago that I had I cucumber bonanza in the garden.  It seems that it has happened again.  I’ve been saving seeds for a few years.  The variety Boston Pickling has always done well for me, and it seems to be getting better.  I planted three starts in the early spring and only one survived the deer and cold wet spring weather.  For some reason, I was worried that wasn’t going to be enough, so I added two more of the same variety from the nursery.  The one plant from the saved seed has dominated the garden, however. Its leaves are huge and it is very aggressive.  It is hard to tell at this point, but I believe it is also the most productive by far.  I am proud of my little landrace cucumber, but it is certainly more the beauty of nature than skill on my part.  Just when I think I have picked the last of them, I find more on the vine.

So what to do with all those cucumbers?  Eat them, share them and, of course, pickles!

 

You can also see the post and recipe from a few years ago here.

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2018 by in Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , .